Tags

The term is defiantly one I’ve heard before but I’ll be honest I don’t know much about it. As for a definition for ICT I found a website which also defines ICT and also the worlds need for the technology. (Link and details below) “ICT – Information and Communications Technology, is an umbrella term which includes any communication device or application, encompassing: radio, television, cellular phones, computer and network hardware and software, satellite systems and so on.” (Margaret Rouse, 2005) ICT basically enables us to use these tools to enhance our learning and makes things like online university courses a possibility.

Rouse, Margaret. (2005) ICT information and communications technology or technologies. Retrieved March 3, 2015, from http://searchcio.techtarget.com/definition/ICT-information-and-communications-technology-or-technologies

The learning path for this week introduced some ideas about what ICT is and opening my eyes to the varied forms of ICT. For instance I engaged in an activity in which I translated binary information – which I honestly had no idea what this meant into something else. So basically a whole lot of 0s and 1s were somehow converted into a picture of a caterpillar. I had no idea that this could even happen, or that a sequence of numbers could be manipulated and convert into an actual image. This activity definitely opened my eyes for the capability of ICT within society and definitely the classroom, as I may not be that much older than the students I teach but they most likely know a lot more about ICT then I do.

Week 1 – Adriana

